Zephyr Net


Return to the Fighters Anthology Resource Center

Go to the VNFAWING.com Forums
It is currently Mon Jun 17, 2024 03:25 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2003 00:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 00:26 am
Posts: 1409
Location: Mid-Coast USA
Image

ok folks heres what I've been able to work out. First all these settings are for a radar set to "pulse doppler". It was tested at 10,000ft (doesnt really matter the settings go as compared to the radar position, as it should be) and was flown at speeds from 200kt to over 800kt(doesnt make as much diff as you might think) against targets running perpendicular (beaming off one wing) to the radar at speeds ranging from 200kt to 550kt, and targets running in on the test radar and retreating, at 200kt and 550kt, as well as targets moving diagonaly at oppsite directions (would looke like an X from above with the radar plane going right into the center crossing area) these targets are also moving from 200kt and 550kt.

first off I'll tell you that AWACS renders all the settings moot just like it ought to, so no worries on that.

second what works well and what doesnt and why.
MTI: works BUT the radar only picks up armor from a few miles(10 or so) even with the normal stock radar so it's not much help, cool but not practicle really since your only like 7 miles away from the armor when you find it.

Air to Air only: This works great, it works as perfect as you could want, no complaints at all on this one. (except the obviouse, it wont do AG work at all)

AG only: this also works well, with the only anomaly being that it WILL pick up planes that are coming straight at you or away from you, under certain conditions.

Mulit-Mode: this is the radar we're used to in FA, able to target air OR ground targets. I was HOPING to be able to have 1 radar on the plane that was the perfect AA radar and another radar that was the perfect AG radar. But even with a lot of fooling around with names and "secondary wep" and "required wep" I couldent get it to work. FA always seemed to take the AG radar as default and so no AA targeting.
The multi mode works ok, but you can cheat the crap out of it by just flying higher than the air targets. The "speed above" and "speed below" settings refer to the altitude of the plane with the radar, if you are above the other planes, then you get the filtering of the "speed below" numbers and since you HAVE to have that set to 0 in order to see ground targets ALL planes below you will jump onto the screen. So If you "roof it" you'll cheat out and see everything that is out there.

ok that's the theory here's the numbers
starting at the bottom

All Aspect- this is exactly the same thing as the IR All Aspect setting for missles , the higher the number the less visable an aproaching plane will be because it's tail is facing away from you.

Look Down-this is surprisingly useless! If you use it to degrade the radar as it "looks" below your altitude, then you loose the ground targeting! you can do the same thing with the "speed below" setting.

Minimum Range- nope it's supposed to be the "burn through" range ,I never saw it do anything except if you set it to 25(and ONLY 25) it will allow "burn through" at around 3 miles, well within viz range of anything.
now the good stuff.

Speed Below- this is a speed filter for all targets (yes ground targets too) BELOW THE ALTITUDE OF THE RADAR IN QUESTION, the higher the number the harder it is for a plane to show up on the radar. faster planes will show up before slower planes as you make the settings lower. If you want ground targets to show up you'll have to set this to 0.

Speed Above-This is a speed filter for all targets AT OR ABOVE THE ALTITUDE OF THE RADAR IN QUESTION, again the higher the settings the lower the chance of a plane showing up, with faster planes showing up first as you lower the settings.

Here are the numbers I found best to my likings, these numbers are posted as from the "Speed Above" box down to the "All Apsect" box

Air To Air radar only- 14,14,0,0,0. with these settings planes above and below your altitude will show up and dissapear depending on how close they are to being in a crossing(beaming) pattern to your radar. AI aircraft will loose thier lock and return to searching if the target planes beam them.

Air TO Ground radar only-239,0,25,0,100. No planes show up except for sometimes coming or going straight at you.

MTI Moving Target Indicator radar-239,1 or 2 or 3,0,0,100. No planes and no stationary ground targets until about 2 miles on the 1 or 2 setting, but moving armor will show at around the normal numbers 7 to 10 miles.

Multi Mode radar-14,0,0,0,0.a combo of the Air to Air and the AG, planes show and dissapear at or above you, but show up below you because of the AG filter numbers. AG targets show up as normal.

well this is what I've worked out "your milage may vary" LOL try them test them see what you would like to change, I've been up for 43 hours and am going to bed ZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

_________________
Fighting for justice with brains of steel

Let your anger be like the monkey which hides inside the piniata.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2003 04:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 00:14 am
Posts: 109
Location: India
[applause]great work KAP...!!![/applause]
8)
Thanks a whole lot!!!


Manoj.

_________________
Download FAMP 1.1, FA India Pakistan and Music Libs

http://13vultures.tripod.com,

Centurian's
http://www.theforsakenoutlaw.com/main.htm


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2003 16:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 19:00 pm
Posts: 763
Very good info, I think many variations on these settings are possible as Vark111 did some different stuff. More experimentation is maybe needed to see what his settings can do. BTW I noticed your F-15 radar screenshot, according to the Harpoon Magazine Waypoint, active duty F-15A/B/C/Ds had ATG modes but they were removed in 1994 during one of the upgrades. I forget which issue discussed it, but the radar variants are all explained as are many other things.

Zephyr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2003 18:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 00:26 am
Posts: 1409
Location: Mid-Coast USA
further combat teasting has shown that they can track you with thier weapons once they get a lock, but after the long range weps are spoofed they loose you again ! I ALMOST got behind a flight of F-15s by beaming them all the way around to about the 5:00 mark but then they saw me and the chase was on LOL

_________________
Fighting for justice with brains of steel

Let your anger be like the monkey which hides inside the piniata.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2003 00:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 00:26 am
Posts: 1409
Location: Mid-Coast USA
further testing shows that if your in a plane like for instance an A-7 that you give the "AG only" radar to. The AA mode still gives you the IR cueing for sidewinder missles and gun director radar mode even if the planes DONT show up on the radar and you just use viz to lock em up.

_________________
Fighting for justice with brains of steel

Let your anger be like the monkey which hides inside the piniata.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2003 22:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 00:26 am
Posts: 1409
Location: Mid-Coast USA
SCHWEEET
3 on 1 F-15s with the Mulit-Mode RADAR nose to nose. I locked on with my AIM-7, they locked on me, I beamed them, they lost thier lock. I turned off my radar and circled around them, came up from behind and below and gunned thier brains out 1 by 1, they NEVER knew what hit them MUAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

_________________
Fighting for justice with brains of steel

Let your anger be like the monkey which hides inside the piniata.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2003 00:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 00:26 am
Posts: 1409
Location: Mid-Coast USA
Some more RADAR oddities. If you give a RADAR 360º FOV it in effect gives it 2 RADARs that cancel each other out, nothing shows up at all!!

Also, if your fond of giving your fighters the "JTIDS or Link16 trick" (like I do lol ) they WILL use it to hunt you down from extreme range, all the doppler stuff goes right out the window, they find you and kill you LOL.
This stuff is all pretty much done now just in semi-final tweaking and checking.

_________________
Fighting for justice with brains of steel

Let your anger be like the monkey which hides inside the piniata.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2003 01:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 19:00 pm
Posts: 763
Quote:
If you give a RADAR 360º FOV it in effect gives it 2 RADARs that cancel each other out, nothing shows up at all!!


Is this with numbers in the boxes you described? Because IIRC there is some sort of problem with this, but if the numbers are zero it might work. Also "authentic radar whatever" may affect this if I recall correctly. And what is the opinion on that? Is it best checked on or off?

Zephyr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2003 01:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2003 17:12 pm
Posts: 1606
Location: NY, USA
Oh yeah this is perfect for the SEE section of the manual. Excellent Kaptor!

_________________
"Smile, AMRAAMs love you!"
"May the PATRIOTS down the FROGS!"
1Lt. Centurian57_76/369th

For all your FA needs and Game Remod 6 visit
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2003 02:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 18, 2003 04:05 am
Posts: 142
Location: Taiwan
Kap, are you sure this works? I set all my aircraft radars to 14,14,0,0,0 to test, and I could still see everything absolutely perfectly... I'm probably doing something wrong, or something's wrong with my settings... I'm using authentic radar and CRT, no easy targeting or aiming...

Could you explain a bit more clearly what these settings are supposed to do? Thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2003 16:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 00:26 am
Posts: 1409
Location: Mid-Coast USA
did you check-mark the "doppler" box in that additional page at the top of the seeker page? If doppler isnt check-marked none of the doppler numbers will work.

Zeph you can make a 360º RADAR by just using 180º FOV. But if you enter 360 you get overlapping RADARs (you can actually see overlapping grids in the radar display if you look carfully, that's what tipped me off) I DONT use the doppler setting for my western AWACS but I DO use the doppler numbers to degrade it some for the WARSAW pact type AWACS.

yeah Cent, I also found a way to add almost any HUD to any aircraft (probly not new or a secret) WITHOUT saving the HUD in TK, I have NO HUDs saved in my currant version of KAPSET but have wide field HUDs in my Mudhen and Eurofighter, F/A-18E/F, F-31Bushido ASTOVLs etc.

_________________
Fighting for justice with brains of steel

Let your anger be like the monkey which hides inside the piniata.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2003 17:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 00:26 am
Posts: 1409
Location: Mid-Coast USA
JEEZE!!!!! I just realized I've NEVER flown FA with "authentic RADAR" on!!! LOL I'm used to it with F-15 and such, but never tried it with FA ROFL. The results should be the same it would just look different since they would just be presenting the same data in different views. I'll give it a fly, but I dont expect a change.

_________________
Fighting for justice with brains of steel

Let your anger be like the monkey which hides inside the piniata.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2003 20:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 18, 2003 04:05 am
Posts: 142
Location: Taiwan
Oh, I got it, thanks a lot Kaptor! No wonder when I had stuff set to 170,170,0,0,0 I still saw everything perfectly... off to test!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2003 11:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2003 18:54 pm
Posts: 4402
Absolutely awesome Kap! This is the first I have seen of this since my last remark in this string about ground radars so long ago! I am implementing this into FA Futures immediately!

I am also going to skim this information out of this string and post it on the vnfawing.com site as your article contribution (since I never got one from ya anyways! lol)

Thanks a ton!

PS - Did you test it with authentic radar on yet? Did it make any difference?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2003 19:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 00:26 am
Posts: 1409
Location: Mid-Coast USA
Tested and all is fine.
CAG I'm swampped with a LOT of private probs right now personal/medical/romantic/job. The stealth article is about half done, and I DO work on it when I can, sorry for the delay.

_________________
Fighting for justice with brains of steel

Let your anger be like the monkey which hides inside the piniata.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 54 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group